Sussex Sports awards to be held at the Grand Hotel.

Sussex Sports awards

BBC Sussex DJ Danny Pike and Badminton legend Gail Emms present this year’s Sussex Sports awards.

In the large county of Sussex, there is a lot of local talent that often goes unnoticed.

However the Sussex Sports Awards aims to recognise and reward those who have helped contribute to their community through being active.

Some of the award categories include: Inspire Leisure Coach of the year, BBC Sussex unsung hero and FA volunteer of the year.

Furthermore there is also a great emphasis on young people within the field of sport.

There is great excitement of the futures for many of the young people in the local area and these rewards will also help build the confidence of many that they may need in the future.

Some of the categories for the young people’s awards are: Active Sussex young volunteer of the year, University of Chichester young coach of the year and Juice 107.2 Young team of the year.

Here is the full list of candidates up for the award:

Active Sussex Workplace Health Award: EDF Energy, Stelfox, University of Sussex

Inspire Leisure Coach of the Year: Steve King, Adam Kipling, Chris Marsden

University of Chichester Young Coach of the Year: Curtis Wadey, Matthew Weller, Joseph Brooker

Sussex County FA Volunteer of the Year: Steve Atkins, Peter Hickman, Katherine Ferguson

Active Sussex Young Volunteer of the Year: Katie Hargreaves, Matthew Weller, Molly Sanderson

BBC Sussex Unsung Hero: Terry Scott, Mick Waghorn, Mike Gammon

The Grand Hotel Club of the Year (Public Vote): East Grinstead Meads Football Club, Brighton Phoenix Basketball Club, Selsey Football Club

Sussex County FA Team of the Year: Hailsham Ladies 1st Hockey Team, Pink Flamingos Football Club Reserves, Brighton and Hove Special Olympics Team

Juice 107.2 Young Team of the Year: Sussex Women’s Cricket U17s, Worthing College U18’s Football Performance Programme, Sussex Schools U18s Football Performance Squad

University of Brighton Disabled Sports Personality of the Year: Faye McClelland, Finley Jakes, William Street

University of Chichester Young Sports Personality of the Year: Luke Nelson, Marco Penge, Amber Anning

Freedom Leisure Sports Personality of the Year: Zara Williams, Charlie Grice, Sebastian Rodger

Sport England Outstanding Contribution to Sport: Peter Crowley, Jeff Hart, John Stride

Tickets for the award ceremony have sold out completely, so the evening promises to be a true communal celebration.

The event will be held at the Grand hotel in Brighton, along the seafront. A VIP reception will commence at 6 until 7, and then a three course meal will be on offer from seven followed by the awards and then late night entertainment.

Best of luck to all up for the awards, the night promises to be an uplifting event for the community.


Above we see the Grand Hotel: the location for the event.

Article by Charlotte Scott


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s